Toronto Travel Guide

I worked at a summer camp a few hours north of Toronto for 5 months over summer 2023 and I spent a few weekends here so I thought I’d share my favourite things to do and places to visit in the city. If I’ve missed anything, let me know in the comments!

Where to Stay

I’ve stayed in two places in Toronto so if you’re looking for a hostel, I’d recommend The Clarence Park as it’s only a 20-minute walk from Union Station and is situated very centrally. I’ve also heard good things about The Planet Traveler and Samesun so they could be worth checking out if you want to stay in the Kensington Market area.

The Neill Wycik Hotel is also a good option as it’s very cheap but only open during summer as it’s a university accommodation during term time. You may also need to email or call them to book as their website can sometimes doesn’t show all their options.

Izzy’s Adventures In Toronto

Watch a Blue Jays Game
Watch a baseball game and enjoy the fun of the sport!

Riverdale Park East
Make the trip the park as you’ll have a gorgeous view of the city! Watching the sunrise or sunset would also be incredible.

Hockey Hall of Fame
If you’re a bit curious about Canada’s history with ice hockey, this is a great museum to visit. There’s lots of interactive games and is a fun afternoon out!

Snakes and Lattes Cafe
Visit Snakes and Lattes to play some board games and enjoy a cocktail or two!

Storm Crow Manor Bar
Head to Storm Crow Manor for a Harry Potter themed drink or Sci-Fi themed meal

Distillery District
Head to this side of town for a pedestrian-only area with cute cafes, unique shops and vintage stalls.

St Lawrence Market
Head to St Lawrence Market for an indoor market with traditional Canadian food. There’s also Kensington Market that’s very similar to Camden Market in the UK that’s worth visiting too.

CF Toronto Eaton Centre
Get all of your shopping requirements met at the Easton Centre.

Other Things To Do

There’s plenty more you can do in Toronto so here’s a list of more of the things that were on my bucket list but I didn’t have time for:

  • The Entertainment District
  • Art Gallery of Ontario
  • Royal Ontario Museum
  • Casa Loma – Toronto’s castle
  • Yorkdale Shopping Centre
  • Ontario Science Museum
  • Centreville Amusement Park – theme park on Toronto Island

I hope you found this useful! Make sure you’re following my blog for more Canadian travel guides (Ottawa and Montreal should be coming soon!). British Columbia is already published!

One thought on “Toronto Travel Guide

Add yours

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑